Lessons – TeachKidsArt http://www.teachkidsart.net a resource for teaching art to kids! Thu, 02 Nov 2017 17:27:36 +0000 en-US hourly 1 Ceramic Sugar Skull Plate for Dia de los Muertos http://www.teachkidsart.net/ceramic-sugar-skull-plate-for-dia-de-los-muertos/ http://www.teachkidsart.net/ceramic-sugar-skull-plate-for-dia-de-los-muertos/#comments Wed, 01 Nov 2017 19:43:30 +0000 http://www.teachkidsart.net/?p=5223

November 1st and 2nd is a Mexican holiday known as “Dia de los Muertos” or “Day of the Dead”….. an no, it isn’t “Mexican Halloween”! It’s not meant to be scary, spooky, or morbid, but rather a colorful tradition of honoring loved ones who have passed. I’m blessed to live in an area of the […] ]]>
http://www.teachkidsart.net/ceramic-sugar-skull-plate-for-dia-de-los-muertos/feed/ 1
Easy Sugar Skull Ceramic Planter/Pot http://www.teachkidsart.net/easy-sugar-skull-ceramic-planterpot/ http://www.teachkidsart.net/easy-sugar-skull-ceramic-planterpot/#comments Thu, 12 Oct 2017 03:33:02 +0000 http://www.teachkidsart.net/?p=5182

As if we needed one more reason to love Trader Joe’s…. THIS sugar skull succulent planter! My students were asking for a project for Day of the Dead, so when I saw these awesome sugar skull succulent planters I knew I had to come up with a good way to make them! So here it […] ]]>
http://www.teachkidsart.net/easy-sugar-skull-ceramic-planterpot/feed/ 1
Book Review: Drawing Cartoons Letter By Letter by Christopher Hart http://www.teachkidsart.net/book-review-drawing-cartoons-letter-by-letter-by-christopher-hart/ Thu, 05 Oct 2017 03:09:35 +0000 http://www.teachkidsart.net/?p=5146

Drawing Cartoons Letter by Letter is the latest in a series of learn-to-draw books by Christopher Hart. I received a free copy in exchange for my honest review, so here it is! The concept of using a letter or number as the framework for beginning a drawing is not new. In fact, I already had […] ]]>
Scholastic Art Giveaway http://www.teachkidsart.net/scholastic-art-giveaway/ Tue, 08 Aug 2017 01:45:31 +0000 http://www.teachkidsart.net/?p=5101

When the editor of Scholastic Art contacted me about reviewing their magazine on my blog and hosting a giveaway, I jumped at the chance! Scholastic Art has a special place in my heart. As a high school senior, I was chosen to receive a Scholastic Art Scholarship to an art school in Boston. Even though […] ]]>
Mona Lisa Meets the Oxford MBA Program http://www.teachkidsart.net/mona-lisa-meets-the-oxford-mba-program/ Wed, 01 Feb 2017 04:02:41 +0000 http://www.teachkidsart.net/?p=4963

What does the Mona Lisa have to do with an MBA from Oxford University? That’s what I was wondering, too…. We recently had the chance to visit our daughter at Oxford University, where she’s studying for her MBA. When we arrived, her “Entrepreneurship” elective was just getting out, and students were talking about an exercise they […] ]]>
No-Measure Mandala on Aluminum Foil http://www.teachkidsart.net/no-measure-mandala-on-aluminum-foil/ http://www.teachkidsart.net/no-measure-mandala-on-aluminum-foil/#comments Sat, 12 Nov 2016 07:06:23 +0000 http://www.teachkidsart.net/?p=4935

Exciting news!! I’m  honored to be a contributor in Kathy Barbro’s new book, Sharpie Art Workshop for Kids. Kathy writes the popular blog, Art Projects for Kids.  It was Kathy’s blog that first inspired me to start my own kids’ art blog many years ago, so that makes this even more exciting for me! You can order Kathy’s […] ]]>
http://www.teachkidsart.net/no-measure-mandala-on-aluminum-foil/feed/ 6
Unwind with a Ceramic “Feeling Sculpture” http://www.teachkidsart.net/unwind-with-a-ceramic-feeling-sculpture/ Tue, 18 Oct 2016 03:35:52 +0000 http://www.teachkidsart.net/?p=4912

This may be the most relaxing clay project you’ll ever do. My students loved it so much, they asked to do it again!  Credit for this awesome project goes to my daughter’s high school Ceramics teacher, Mr. Emery. He challenged his students to form the clay with their eyes closed (!), but I made that optional for […] ]]>
Kaleidoscope Lettering – New & Improved! http://www.teachkidsart.net/kaleidoscope-lettering-new-improved/ Sat, 18 Jun 2016 01:07:01 +0000 http://www.teachkidsart.net/?p=4836

While I love creating new art projects to keep things fresh and interesting, some of the older projects are just so good, they’re worth repeating year after year…. which also gives me the chance to keep improving them! Kaleidoscope Lettering is one of those projects! It uses the concepts of bilateral (reflective) symmetry, tessellation, and positive/negative space to transform names, initials, or inspiring words into unique […] ]]>
Say, “I Love You” with Clay http://www.teachkidsart.net/say-i-love-you-with-clay/ Sun, 14 Feb 2016 21:05:32 +0000 http://www.teachkidsart.net/?p=4710

There’s something about ceramic projects that makes them such special keepsakes. Maybe it’s the permanence of the glazed and fired clay, able to last well beyond a generation. Maybe it’s the tactile nature of the medium itself and the way it reveals each impression left by the artist’s hands. Or, maybe it’s that there tend to […] ]]>
Giving Back with Art http://www.teachkidsart.net/giving-back-with-art/ Fri, 05 Feb 2016 22:58:16 +0000 http://www.teachkidsart.net/?p=4700

Have you ever been inspired to ‘give back’ to your community as a way to say “thank you” to those who helped you through a difficult time? I was touched by the story of Dan and Janean Toone, who started Young at Art in response to the care that their young grandson received while spending […] ]]>