Supplies / Products – TeachKidsArt http://www.teachkidsart.net a resource for teaching art to kids! Sun, 31 Dec 2017 04:33:39 +0000 en-US hourly 1 2 NEW Tips for Using Prang Watercolor Sets in Your Classroom http://www.teachkidsart.net/2-new-tips-for-using-prang-watercolor-sets-in-your-classroom/ Wed, 27 Sep 2017 20:40:11 +0000 http://www.teachkidsart.net/?p=5127

For decades, the Prang OVL-8 Watercolor Set has been a staple in elementary classrooms far and wide. Their convenience, consistent quality and affordable price is hard to beat. A while back I posted 6 tips for success using these popular watercolor sets, and then even more watercolor tips here. Adding to all this, one of […] ]]>
Scholastic Art Giveaway http://www.teachkidsart.net/scholastic-art-giveaway/ Tue, 08 Aug 2017 01:45:31 +0000 http://www.teachkidsart.net/?p=5101

When the editor of Scholastic Art contacted me about reviewing their magazine on my blog and hosting a giveaway, I jumped at the chance! Scholastic Art has a special place in my heart. As a high school senior, I was chosen to receive a Scholastic Art Scholarship to an art school in Boston. Even though […] ]]>
How to Make the Perfect Slip for All Your Clay Projects http://www.teachkidsart.net/how-to-make-the-perfect-slip-for-all-your-clay-projects/ Thu, 09 Feb 2017 03:48:31 +0000 http://www.teachkidsart.net/?p=4978

When joining two pieces of clay, you’ll have the best chance of them staying joined if you score (rough up the surfaces to be joined) and then slip (paint both scored surfaces with a mixture of clay and water). Clay can sometimes have a mind of its own so this step is a small price to […] ]]>
How to Take Great Photos of Kids’ Art Using Your iPhone http://www.teachkidsart.net/how-to-take-great-photos-of-kids-art-using-your-iphone/ Tue, 17 May 2016 06:19:04 +0000 http://www.teachkidsart.net/?p=4823

Whether you’re a parent wanting to document your child’s artistic journey or an art teacher/blogger in need of awesome photos of your students’ projects, the best camera to use is the one you have with you! And if you’re like me, that’s the iPhone in your back pocket. With an iPhone (or other smartphone), you can take […] ]]>
How to Care for Your Art Room Brushes http://www.teachkidsart.net/how-to-care-for-your-art-room-brushes/ http://www.teachkidsart.net/how-to-care-for-your-art-room-brushes/#comments Sun, 03 Apr 2016 01:39:47 +0000 http://www.teachkidsart.net/?p=4781

Let’s face it, art room brushes take a beating. But don’t throw them away – rejuvenate them instead!  I used to think “The Masters” Brush Cleaner and Preserver was only for my expensive art brushes at home. Somehow the brushes in my classroom didn’t seem ‘worthy’. How crazy is that?! Now that I’ve started using […] ]]>
http://www.teachkidsart.net/how-to-care-for-your-art-room-brushes/feed/ 2
A Podcast Just for Art Teachers http://www.teachkidsart.net/a-podcast-just-for-art-teachers/ http://www.teachkidsart.net/a-podcast-just-for-art-teachers/#comments Wed, 02 Mar 2016 06:19:15 +0000 http://www.teachkidsart.net/?p=4736

When I discover something new that I really love, I have to share it! Whether it’s my new YETI tumbler that keeps my tea hot (or cold) all day or my Pentel Water Brush that I’m currently having a blast with, I tell everyone. There’s just something in me that has to share good things with others. […] ]]>
http://www.teachkidsart.net/a-podcast-just-for-art-teachers/feed/ 2
Giving Back with Art http://www.teachkidsart.net/giving-back-with-art/ Fri, 05 Feb 2016 22:58:16 +0000 http://www.teachkidsart.net/?p=4700

Have you ever been inspired to ‘give back’ to your community as a way to say “thank you” to those who helped you through a difficult time? I was touched by the story of Dan and Janean Toone, who started Young at Art in response to the care that their young grandson received while spending […] ]]>
Origami Flower Balls http://www.teachkidsart.net/origami-flower-balls/ http://www.teachkidsart.net/origami-flower-balls/#comments Thu, 10 Dec 2015 04:50:06 +0000 http://www.teachkidsart.net/?p=4658

The Japanese art of origami always seems like a fitting thing to do at Christmas. It’s peaceful and calming, almost meditative to work on, and it makes a beautiful decoration when finished!  As with many origami projects, this unique hanging ornament looks much more difficult than it is. It’s really just the same simple sequence repeated over and over […] ]]>
http://www.teachkidsart.net/origami-flower-balls/feed/ 2
Gratefulness Rocks http://www.teachkidsart.net/gratefulness-rocks/ http://www.teachkidsart.net/gratefulness-rocks/#comments Sat, 21 Nov 2015 03:26:22 +0000 http://www.teachkidsart.net/?p=4637

The Thanksgiving holiday seems to bring out the best in people, as we focus on family, friends, serving others, and gratefulness. Sharing what we’re thankful for is central to our Thanksgiving tradition, and to this project sponsored by Elmer’s!  Gratefulness Rocks are a fun way for the whole family to share what’s most important while creating […] ]]>
http://www.teachkidsart.net/gratefulness-rocks/feed/ 5
The Cure for Dry Hands! http://www.teachkidsart.net/the-cure-for-dry-hands/ http://www.teachkidsart.net/the-cure-for-dry-hands/#comments Sun, 08 Nov 2015 05:46:56 +0000 http://www.teachkidsart.net/?p=4607

We art teachers probably wash our hands as often as doctors! When you combine this frequent hand-washing with cold winter weather, and whatever medium we’ve currently got our hands in, it takes a nasty toll on our skin. After so many years of trying different lotions and still having rough, dry hands, I had all but resigned myself […] ]]>
http://www.teachkidsart.net/the-cure-for-dry-hands/feed/ 2